MOT fail / big service repair bill (2 Viewers)

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
Motorhome failed MOT 2 weeks ago, centre prop shaft bearing 🤔 ?

Booked in for service following week at Mertrux so rang them asked to add to job and get part ordered

Took down, got a call back to say they have found serious issues / work needed 🙁

Brake discs and pads, not surprised as noted on this and previous MOT I had told them if they looked bad to change them 👍

Whole exhaust system is hanging off and needs replacing all the brackets have failed 😳🙁

Brake pipes all showing heavy corrosion all need changing which means removing fuel tank 😳🙁

Track rod too much play on one side suggest changing both 🙄👍

Diff oil seal leaking but might as well change while prop shaft off for prop shaft bearing 👍

This is all by phone call, we are away visiting Bevs mum in hospital after having stroke 🙁🙏 so while he talked I was adding up in my head

I am not good at this bit 🙄 service was quoted at £500

I guessed £500 to add front discs

Thought maybe £1000 absolute max for exhaust

Brake pipes no idea

Propshaft guessed £200 no idea what that was based on though

So when he said quote was up to £6500 + VAT I nearly got into hospital bed with MIL 😳

So I asked him to give me a bit more breakdown

Turns out exhaust is over £3K for bits 😳 brake pipes fairly modest £1200 including fitting

Bev had said how she was looking forward to getting away it was what we needed with mum being poorly

I knew I had just moved sone money around ready for some work in the house and by chance alone had enough to cover this so agreed to go ahead as we wanted it back

I will continue in another post below it’s bringing tears to my eyes just retelling 🤔👍

Dec 17, 2016
Malvern
Funster No
MH
Hymer B525 2006 A cl
Exp
Really sorry to hear that David - both Bev's mum and the MOT. But yes sometimes you just have to bite the bullet however painful.