1. Untitled Document

Modified or pure?

Discussion in 'MOTORHOME CHAT' started by Coolbeanz, Jun 20, 2013.

1. Coolbeanz

Coolbeanz Funster

I aim to buy a 1000w inverter and can see that pure sine wave inverters are much dearer than modified sine wave inverters so I am guessing the pure ones are better but can someone tell me what is the difference and is it best to pay the extra?

The main reason I need it is to power my low wattage travel hairdryer as it is clear from the forum that 12V hairdryers are only good for drying the back of stamps! :Smile:
  2. Snowbird

Snowbird Funster

If you are only using a hair dryer than the modified will be fine.
  3. Coolbeanz

Coolbeanz Funster

but if i have an inverter installed it seems logical it will be used for other things so do you know what kind of appliances need the pure as opposed to the modified? :BigGrin:
  4. vwalan

vwalan Funster

i have been using a 2kw modified inverter in my trailer for about 8 yrs . never found anything that didnt work on it . unless they were really big power suckers . it went wrong the other day .i bought a cheap one from ebay . again does every thing it says on the box . fridge ,computer,telly ariel drills washing machine . . i think modified is ok . others say not but i find it ok
  5. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster

modern electronics don't like modified sine wave of any source...Jennie or inverter.

Laptops, TV,s etc can't be damaged.

Now the tech bit in its most basic form:Doh:

Draw a straight line on a piece of paper.
    Now draw a box on top of the line and another below the line but directly after the first....repeat along the line.

This is a square wave form...electrically speaking, the 'dirtiest' form of electric....heating elements will work fine but usually not motors etc

Next, draw what looks like a bicycle helmet then another below and upside down as in the square wave..