I don't do swimming (1 Viewer)

Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
Our Springer dose not do swimming he will go up to his belly.
But no further he paws at the water retrieves stones from the bottom by duking under but won't swim loves to pull things out of the canal or bushes and drops them at my feet to put in a bin bag gose mad if he sees sumthing floating down the cut like plastic bottles but won't go get them
IMG_20220713_201814.jpg

IMG_20220713_201838.jpg
IMG_20220713_202817.jpg

RM_Marine

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 29, 2021
Poole, UK
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Apache 700
Exp
Since 2021
This sounds mental but, have you taught them how to swim

My ex was a police dog handler and she was given a new dog from another handler and realised lenny had never been taught how to swim or encouraged to

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Oct 11, 2019
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Converting a Van
Exp
I'm a Total Newbie!
My little buddy goes in upto his belly too. But he doesn't like much movement like rivers and the waves in the sea.

He can swim though, when he falls in the canal (which he's done a couple of times) or I push him in to cool him down.

OP
OP
Wildbill
Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
This sounds mental but, have you taught them how to swim

My ex was a police dog handler and she was given a new dog from another handler and realised lenny had never been taught how to swim or encouraged to
Wer off on holidays tomorrow Scotland lots of lock's I am sure he will get wet a few times up thare
Bill

Sep 21, 2016
DERBYSHIRE
Funster No
MH
Frankia i740
Exp
since 2007
My Labradoodle used to hate the water even though he had webbed paws. I could never get him to go in the sea or any river he was so scared. He was 3 months old when he came to me. His previous owner gave him back to the breeder as she said he was "out of control "
:rolleyes: yeah, pretty much was the case for 14 years But I loved him :h:

Gina

OP
OP