Upgrade to LiFePO4 Lithium Batteries (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Feb 15, 2022
Crewe, UK
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Expedition
Exp
Since 2008
Funsters,

I am considering upgrading my leisure battery to two 100Ah LiFePO4 Lithium Batteries. My rig is a 2024 Autotrail Expedition 68. My power unit is a Sargent EC362.
Will my current charging system support lithium batteries? I suspect not. If I have to make modifications what do I need to do and how do I make these without invalidating my warranty?
Another question (if I may) does a battery to battery charger work both ways? Will the leisure battery top up the vehicle battery?
I cannot source a wiring diagram which would give me some idea of what is required.
Any help would be appreciated. I am not a complete novice, my trade involves electrical engineering. However, modern motorhome electrics is not my field of expertise.

hja

May 8, 2020
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit Prim
Exp
Since 2019
We replaced a 100ah battery with a 230ah lithium. Fitted in the same space as the original battery, but obviously more power and less weight. Why two batteries?

Sep 29, 2007
Wantage, UK
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Motorhoming since 2006, 30 years tent camping in Africa
In a nutshell:
1. You will need to disable your split charge system and install a DC-DC (B2B) charger.
2. Your mains charger could be set to gel or AGM which would be OK (but it means you rely only on the BMS to protect the cells and it becomes the first, last and only line of defense)
3. Your solar controller is probably OK, but many people that upgrade to lithium prefer to change the controller at the same time so they can see exactly how it is doing (using the app with Bluetooth). A Victron MPPT is relatively inexpensive in the scheme of things. Of course, it depends on whether you have solar and what controller you already have.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
59Loz
Feb 15, 2022
Crewe, UK
Funster No
MH