Chris116

Free Member
Feb 7, 2024
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
Hi,
We’ve just purchased our first motorhome Burstner 745 and are very green newbies. We won’t be able to use it for a few months so my question is does the solar panel charge both leisure and starter batteries or just the leisure? It’s in a storage compound so no EHU. Would it be worth removing the batteries to look after them at home or could that potentially cause additional problems?
kind regards and many thanks in advanc.

Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.
Welcome. Some additional information is required. Yes with enough solar, and the right controller your van would be fine storage. You'll need to post up what size the panel is, the type of controller, and battery type if possible.
Mike.

OP
OP
C

Chris116

Free Member
Feb 7, 2024
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
Welcome. Some additional information is required. Yes with enough solar, and the right controller your van would be fine storage. You'll need to post up what size the panel is, the type of controller, and battery type if possible.
Mike.
Thanks Mike,
l’ve only just got the van so no idea on any specifications its a MY 22 so batteries will be OE I’ll look through the documents to try and find any info on the panel and controller, couldn’t find anything on the starter battery/solar panel charger though.

OP
OP
C

Chris116

Free Member
Feb 7, 2024
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
Does your insurance state alarms need to be operational ?
Thanks for the reply,
Yes, unfortunately the insurance have stated factory fitted alarms and immobilisers be operational and an additional tracker be fitted as well. However I thought removal of the starter or both batteries would help improve security 😉. It’s on a Gold Secure storage site, obviously I don’t want to turn up and find the batteries dead or find I created an unforeseen problem by removing them for a few months to charge at home.