Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Oct 31, 2023
Durham
Funster No
MH
Hobby 560
Exp
I’m a newbie
Travelling for a short stay up to Seahouses in Northumberland when I felt the steering go. Thinking it was a blow out, pulled over to check and couldn’t see anything. We pulled away and within 200yds, the steering went again, so pulled off at the next junction to find we had almost no brakes. Eventually managed to stop, steam billowing from the near side rear wheel and realise the wheel was at a tilt. 3 hrs later waiting on recovery, it appears the wheel bearings had went which then started taking out the wheel bolts, wonky donkey comes to mind. Managed to get it dropped off at the storage yard before the wheel falls off. what a day 🤦🏻‍♂️

IMG_7043.jpeg

IMG_7046.jpeg

AlunandFelicie

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2018
Funster No
MH
Burstner lyseo time
Glad you’re Okay ,looks like a costly repair ☹️

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Newkybroon
Oct 31, 2023
Durham
Funster No
MH
Hobby 560
Exp
I’m a newbie
Wow, I can see why you would lose the brakes as it's probably ripped out the wheel cylinders, but why would it affect the steering ?
Could have been much worse, glad everyone is safe (y)
What's the base vehicle ?
Ducato base. I suppose if the wheel was rotating off its axis, it would affect the way the vehicle was travelling (having to counteract it through steering) All safe which is the main thing, thank yoy

May 29, 2014
southampton
Funster No
MH
A frame
Exp
since 1985
I was recently thinking about GVW and the loading on bearings obviously there comes a point when the bearings become overloaded.
Not suggesting this was the case here though but worth consideration.

Apr 22, 2018
Herts.
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral lowline