Newbies -Just about to buy Hobby 750 2.8 2001 -what should we look out for? (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Aug 19, 2024
Sutton Coldfield, Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
just-looking
Exp
I’m a newbie
Morning All.

First post and never bought a motorhome before

We’re just about to buy a Hobby 750 2.8 2001 -what should we look out for?

I’ve just seen a post on rotten floors etc.

What check overs should we be doing please ?

I don’t want to buy something which ends up being too good to be true. It looks really clean and well looked after. But we’re an hour and half from the dealer. So want to make sure we’re doing the right thing.

Any experienced owners/Mechanics near Doncaster who we could pay for their time to join us to check it over for us ?

We’re travelling up Wednesday 21st August and should get there early afternoon

Thanks in advance

Looking forward to meeting some of you in our travels, if you have any top tips for newbies, we’d love to hear them 😀

Aug 12, 2021
Nantwitch Cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Flair
Exp
25years
They are an exelent buy loads in Germany always look the business ,is it the one with 3 windows down the side,check service record and timing belt replacement .The dealer I go to in Germany has the Hobby. C.Lub go there for servicing

Apr 1, 2024
Bolton
Funster No
MH
Hobby T500 LHD
Exp
Spring 2024
I don't know how well read up you are and I don't know the model but I suspect that it is going to be plated at over 3500kg so you are going to need the right licence category to drive it and will have to take medicals post 70 every two years to keep that licence category.
It is for that reason that I will not consider anything plated at over 3500kg. ATM I would pass the medical with flying colours. But who knows for the future?
P.S. And of course all named drivers would have to be similarly qualified or anybody driving 3rd party via their own insurance.

Nov 9, 2019
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie