East or west end of Pyrenees to get to Mediterranean coast Spain S of Barcelona? (1 Viewer)

May 30, 2021
Devon, UK
Funster No
MH
C class motorhome
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for all the very helpful replies to my post about night stops getting from Dieppe to the Pyrenees.
Next decisions are which end of the Pyrenees to cross by into Spain aiming for the Mediterranean coast south of Barcelona? We fancy visiting Amposta and the Ebro delta mentioned in Lenny HB's thread "Lenny's search for winter sun", and then heading down the coast. I believe that using any of the tunnels would now require us to carry snow chains (winter tires regulations in France). Irun-Pamplona-Zaragossa seems one option. The alternative is Perpignan, past the eastern end of the Pyrenees and along the Spanish Med coast. Any advice welcome, including stops.
Do we need to worry about security (Barcelona doesn't have a good reputation)?

We will have two e-biles on the back.

Thanks in anticipation.

Jan 22, 2012
Wigan
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun TI 2012
Exp
Despite the expense of the tolls along the med stretch of France. I prefer this longer route. I like the resorts just over the border in Spain.

Nov 24, 2017
Greater London
Funster No
MH
2021 Burstner TD680G
Exp
Camping , caravanning, campervaning for 10 years
Eastern route for us. Weather should be kinder to you this time of year. Crossing northern Spain in Winter could be nasty. We stop 3 times from the channel tunnel to Benicassim using the A20:
Stopping at;
1.Camping Car park at Dreux
2.Camping Montreal at St Germaines Les Belles (open all year)
3.Any of the Camping carparks around Toulouse or Carcassonne.