Cycle Carrier Options (1 Viewer)

Nov 17, 2018
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Campervan
Exp
I'm a Newbie
I have a standard (60kg max load) 3-bike cycle carrier on the back of my Motorhome, which is okay for my light-ish weight bikes, although I have to stand on a step to fit them on it, but far too high for me to safely lift my partner's e-bike. I think I need a beefier carrier much lower down. I can't see a way of retro fitting a carrier without removing the internal shower wall, something I don't even want to consider!
I also worry about the weight issue and I'm looking at the options to up-plate, however doing that and possibly adding a towbar (for an e-bike carrier) would be quite expensive.
Anyone have any suggestions?
2023-10-17_15-48-26_102.jpg
2023-10-17_15-48-26_102.jpg

stevewagner

LIFE MEMBER
May 14, 2013
Pevensey Bay
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Yonks
If you remove the battery and saddle would it make the weight more bearable to lift?

May 10, 2023
Kent, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto-Trail
Exp
Since 2002
Is your partner's e-bike a folding type that could be carried in a bag inside your MH while travelling? That would be the cheapest option and would keep that weight off the rear wall.

If it's not a folding type, it is not only the carrying capacity of the rack (60kg) to consider but also the load on the carrier's fixings to the rear wall. I was advised by the manufacturer of our MH to add spreader plates inside to avoid possible problems with the rack fixings (we carry two electric bikes). We have a rear lounge so it was easy to do that but not with a rear bathroom.

It doesn't look like you could lower the rack much anyway without affecting access to the toilet cassette. There are racks that lift once the bikes are loaded but then you are perhaps up against providing new or additional fixings.

The costly option, as you say, is fitting a towbar or other chassis-mounted type of bike rack. Most are tilting to allow access to the cassette.