Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
This thread is for the general discussion of the Item Cobb. Hit the Review Button at the top of the page to leave a proper review. Feel free to discuss it below.

OP
OP
Jim

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Jim posted a on the Item

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Deleted User
What briquettes do you use?

We bought one several years ago, don't think we ever got it to cook anything properly as an oven and as a bbq found it totally useless despite using expensive briquettes.

Stashed under a bed somewhere now, I have a lot of experience with bbq's but never got to grips with this one, must have been doing something wrong, a few tips perhaps? I am willing to give it another go.......if I can find it:)

OP
OP
Jim

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
What briquettes do you use?

We bought one several years ago, don't think we ever got it to cook anything properly as an oven and as a bbq found it totally useless despite using expensive briquettes.

Stashed under a bed somewhere now, I have a lot of experience with bbq's but never got to grips with this one, must have been doing something wrong, a few tips perhaps? I am willing to give it another go.......if I can find it:)

We do pretty much what they say here I've never used the proprietary cobblestones, but I do buy the best quality briquettes, regular charcoal just doesn't hold heat for long enough. I think the trick is to make sure she is well alight before popping on the lid. We've never had a problem and have cooked very large family joints without ever having an issue.

D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
I normally use good quality briquettes as well and never have a problem.

Agree completely with @Jim about cooking a chicken on it. It's the best way I've found by far.