Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
Any one in to 3D printing ?
I keep coming up with things I could do with ( mods, design changes something entirely new ) and THINK I might benefit from owning a 3D printer
Not overly worried about the printer its self or the mechanics of using one, but what I am concerned with is how easy or hard the software involved in making parts is.
As far as I can gather the software is essentially in three parts
CAD
CAD to slicer
Slicer

As a total beginner is there a CAD program that is reasonable easy to use ? I admit that I am proly gonna get totally baffled ( esp as some of the intended parts are quite complex )

Once past the CAD I can proly work the rest out

Oh.. After a bit of research I have discovered that the prefered processor for the machine is still 8bit.
32 bit are getting common place but the consensus seems to be they can be glitchy
With that in mind, I have an old 486 or P1 PC in the loft..
Thoughts on what PC to use would be useful ( I do not want to tie up the main machine for long periods )

Two on Tour

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 16, 2016
Near the junction of the A14 and A1, Cambs
Funster No
MH
Elddis Autoquest 175
Exp
Since 2010
Jaws John, I have not used this program myself, but it might be worth a look at as and introduction to CAD design. There are quite a few tutorial videos on YouTube for the program and using it to 3D print.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Jaws

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
Jaws John, I have not used this program myself, but it might be worth a look at as and introduction to CAD design. There are quite a few tutorial videos on YouTube for the program and using it to 3D print.

Cheers.. I shall download it and have a play tomorrow ( Got my hands full updating a web site tonight ! )

dabhand

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2014
Staffs
Funster No
MH