Still waiting to collect my new van and I'm at my wit's end (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Aug 28, 2021
Oxford, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto-Sleeper Kingham
Exp
I'm a newbie
Last week I wrote a forum post about how I had been waiting three weeks to get my brand new van after paying all the money for it.

I'm still waiting.

I called Marquis last week and they said they said they were still waiting for the V55 registration documents from the DVLA. I had asked them if they could deliver the vehicle to me on trade plates so that it was at least on my drive, but was told they are not allowed to release it until they have those documents.

So we are now approaching the fifth week where I have handed over £78,000 and I still have no van - nor any indication of when I might actually be able to pick it up.

I'm frustrated and getting increasingly annoyed. Do I have any options other than to just sit and wait?

OP
OP
SirPooley
Aug 28, 2021
Oxford, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto-Sleeper Kingham
Exp
I'm a newbie
Have they sent you proof of their application? Proof of posting and proof of receipt at DVLA? That’s what my dealer did when I was waiting.
Hope you get it soon.
They haven't but I do trust them, even if that makes me naïve. I sat with the sales guy as he went through the application after I chose my number plate.

Upvote 0
May 26, 2016
north wales
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
moderate
I would tell the dealer, that as it's now your van, and they will not allow it to be moved, you have every right to move into it where it stands.
Spending a couple of nights in it at the dealers just might make them speed things up a bit.

Upvote 0

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
I had asked them if they could deliver the vehicle to me on trade plates so that it was at least on my drive, but was told they are not allowed to release it until they have those documents.