Source of decent fuses (1 Viewer)

Sep 24, 2013
Norwich
Funster No
MH
Carthago A class
Exp
Since 2014
There was a discussion a while ago about fuses and quality of same. I've not found it so am asking where members get their spare fuses from that can be relied upon to do their job! I needed a blown fuse to check which was the "input" to the fuse and tried to blow a 5A fuse with a 10A power supply. It happily took all 10A. So suspect that the whole multipack is suspect. Looking for a source of quality ones.

Feb 16, 2020
KT15.
Funster No
MH
Sunlight. T66. 2019.
Exp
Absolute beginners.
I don't think it's as straight forward equation as your example 🤷 others can explain in more depth.
Mike.

Apr 13, 2012
Funster No
MH
Mobilvetta Euroyacht
Exp
1996, then break 'til 2011
Just last week I checked the fuses on my Ducato - the heater fuse had a 15a fitted instead of the 30a in the handbook.
The 15a hadn't just blown it had melted - I had to remove it with pliers.

May 11, 2023
Funster No
MH
Globecar Summit 540
I checked my 2023 globecar hab fuses last week and found installed from new a 10A fuse for a circuit consisting of 2 x 6A cigarette lighter type sockets and 5 lights and a couple of USB sockets. The lights take about 3A. Total possible about 17A?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Derbyshire wanderer

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 30, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
15 years
There was a discussion a while ago about fuses and quality of same. I've not found it so am asking where members get their spare fuses from that can be relied upon to do their job! I needed a blown fuse to check which was the "input" to the fuse and tried to blow a 5A fuse with a 10A power supply. It happily took all 10A. So suspect that the whole multipack is suspect. Looking for a source of quality ones.
Testing the current to blow a fuse is dependent on time and percentages of excess current