Improving security on the garage doors (3 Viewers)

Jan 2, 2012
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Knaus Van Ti 640 MEG
Exp
Had a variety of tents, tipis, motorhomes, caravans and now back to a coach built motorhome!
We’re heading to Europe in September and we’re complete newbies to motorhoming abroad. The horror stories we keep reading of motorhomes being broken in to whilst nearby Calais, just even filling with fuel, or in a queue for a ferry or tunnel, makes me very cautious and I’m looking to improve the security. Of course we’ll be sensible by not stopping nearby unless we have to and stopping at our first site a good hour or so away.

We had a garage door pop open whilst travelling last year, and after emptying the garage and having a good look the locks are poor, have minimal adjustment and only just catch when giving the doors a good slam. I’ve done what I can with adjustment. It strikes me that someone could easily break in with a little force, so I’m looking at alternative options to beef up security.
I can see Milenco and Fiamma do extra locks, has anyone fitted these? Is it straightforward? Any other suggestions or comments?

Thanks

IMG_1746.jpeg

Apr 20, 2020
Northern Ireland.
Funster No
MH
Adria Compact SC.
Exp
Since 2017
I am not a big fan of addition locks on doors.
It gives the impression that it is worth breaking into and if they do, they will do a lot of damage to the surrounding bodywork.
It looks like you already have an alarm fitted so at least you have some protection.

JRT

Feb 28, 2023
The former North Riding of Yorkshire.
Funster No
MH
Nearly did....but...
Exp
40 years caravanning.
Any comments.......

I was surprised (when looking at used MHs) at how after just a few years those Fiamma types lost their coating and the exposed metal rusted leaving a very unsightly appearance.

Newer ones may be better.

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09