1. MotorhomeFun The best Motorhome Club in the World
     
    Register to remove adverts Register Here

    Welcome to Motorhome Fun

    MotorhomeFun is a large community of motorhome and touring enthusiasts. Our website is the busiest of its kind. It serves as a meeting place for thousands of members who share their knowledge of motorhomes and travel, as well as arrange rallies in the UK, Europe and beyond.

    It's easy to join us and takes just a minute

Help, Garmin update.

Discussion in 'TECH/MECH GENERAL' started by Bailey58, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Downloading the latest Garmin maps I'm told I "haven't got enough space do I want to use a macro SD card?"

    Does the update overwrite the existing setup or is it adding the entire new mapping as well? I don't particularly want to run the satnav with a card sticking out the side so can I delete the old mapping before updating if this is the case?
  2. hdvrod

    hdvrod Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    devon
    On my Garmin Zumo 660 (same as Nuvo but waterproof) you need a mini sd card,this card sits in the side of the battery compartment,you need to remove the battery to see where it goes.If you dont have one you will probably need sd card adaptor as well.I use an 8gb mini sd card.I have the garmin lifetime updates and takes about 20 mins to upload the new European maps.Any other questions just ask:Smile:
  3. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    1,974
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    My last TomTom update was too big for the internal memory so I have put it on an SD card (32Gb) so now have bags of room so have put on all Europe, instead of just Western Europe, and some more POIs and still tons of space left.
    The internal memory is only 2Gb so bound to run out sooner or later as the maps are becoming more detailed.
    1 person likes this.
  4. Ivory55

    Ivory55 Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    143
    Location:
    North West Norfolk
    hi when we did the garmin up date it came up telling us it would take 17,800 hours. as it happens it took all weekend. cheers ivory55
  5. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Co Durham
    I had this problem when I first updated mine, put a sd card in but couldn't get it to load onto there. I eventually went in and deleted files I wasn't going to use like help files in other languages, but you need to be sure you don't delete anything you need in the future. I think I Googled the problem and got some info that way. Since the initial update I have had no further problem.
  6. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Thanks for the responses. I've ordered a 8gb mini sd card which comes with an adaptor. Annoying thing is it told me 13 hours to download initially which dropped to about 3 but it doesn't do the maps til last so don't get the "full" message until it's too late. I'll start again when I get the card. :Doh:

    Edit: Oh and I thought the card went in that tiny slot in the side, what's that for then?
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  7. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    1,974
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    These updates do take a long time, so do them at home if you can. My TomTom one took over an hour and I have fibreoptic internet.
  8. hdvrod

    hdvrod Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    devon
    I have about 7mb speed and the full update took between 20mins to 1/2 hour.
  9. wiljoy

    wiljoy Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Crook, Durham
    Glad I saw your post, you may be able to help.
    I have a TomTom and as I try to update it is telling me the SD Card is full.
    Can I use an ordinary SD Card or has it to be purchased as a special from TomTom/
    Thanks,
    Wilf
  10. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    1,974
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Mine was an ordinary one, originally bought to use in a camera. I'm sure if TomTom sell you one it will cost a lot more. Get at least 4Gb capacity which will be quite cheap. Your TomTom is probably a different model to mine so it possibly might not work. Mine is a Go730.
  11. wiljoy

    wiljoy Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Crook, Durham
    Many thanks.
    What is the best may to transfer all the data from the existing card? Through the computer or direct from my Tom Tom account.
    Wilf
  12. hdvrod

    hdvrod Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    devon
    Is the current data on a card,stuff like favourites etc as far as I am aware will be in the units memory,when I updated mine I cleared the history from mini sd memory,but all my other stuff was still there.
  13. wiljoy

    wiljoy Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Crook, Durham
    All that's on the card is Tom Tom data, I have no other items stored. I will give it a go and see if it will copy from my backup on the computer. As you say it may not. Mine is a built in unit (Renault 2011) so may not like to be copied.
    Will let you know, many thanks.
    Wilf
  14. wiljoy

    wiljoy Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Crook, Durham
    Many, many thanks. I have managed to copy everything accross to a larger SD card.
    I probably would't have tried if it wasn't for your post.
    As a matter of interest I manufactured and fitted all the graphics to your motorhome range based on the Mercedes, the good days. If you ever need any text let me know, I don't have any of the stripes now but names I can still manufacture.
    Wilf
  15. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Garmin support

    Garmin have an excellent product support line (It is Free) on 0808 238 0000

    Mike
  16. deanroofing

    deanroofing Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    bedfordshire
    Delete all the foreign languages that you don't want, will give you sheds loads of space.
  17. hdvrod

    hdvrod Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    devon
    Glad you got it sorted out can be a bit daunting all this computer stuff:Smile:
  18. elamessa

    elamessa Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Download the complete mapset to your computer, once that is done make a backup copy of the Garmin. As your are putting all the maps onto an SDHC card, you do not want any mapsets on your Garmin. To avoid this situation, connect your Garmin to your computer and search for GMAPPROM.IMG and GMAPSUPP.IMG (if you have one). If you find any, these filesshould be deleted. You do not need to delete any other files (apart from voices if you want more room on your Garmin).

    Note: You may decide to split your maps between the card and the Garmin. If you are doing this, keep the GMAPSUPP.IMG file on your Garmin but keep track of which countries are on the Garmin. Remember to subtract those map segments from your card if they are on the Garmin (use the “Ctrl” key to de-select the map segments in MapInstall). If you do split your maps, remember to change your destination in MapInstall. That is, in one case, the device will be the Garmin and in the other, the device will be the card. Again, duplicate coverage will create problems.

    Information provided from Garmin Zumo forums.

    HTH
    Steve
  19. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.

    I'll have a look at it again when I get the card. :thumb:
  20. TheTwoOfUs

    TheTwoOfUs Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page