Funster
May 27, 2015
Bedfordshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584
Exp
Long time
Have had a quick look around the forum but not seen anything useful, so…..
What FREE Antivirus do people use on their laptops, running Windows?
Is it truly free or is it just a taster and do you have to pay after a while?
Does it work?

Aug 22, 2007
essex
Funster No
MH
2017 sunlight t69s euro6
Exp
since 1999
BT gives free Norton as part of the package but it seems to slow the PC down

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

PP Bear

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 5, 2013
Kent, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Dakota SE
Exp
Another vote for Windows protection. Just make sure you check it regularly for security and virus updates, as they’re free too 👍🏻

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
I've used Windows' built in AV, firewall, etc. tool for many years.
Add on AV tools were too invasive.

edit: definitely from Windows Vista onwards, maybe XP SP2 but not sure.

Mar 21, 2022
Bradford, UK
Funster No
MH
Chausson 711
Exp
Since 2009
One thing I would add, no matter what AV you use, do regular back up’s of important data.

meanders

Funster - Life Member
LIFE MEMBER
Jun 28, 2008
Ipswich, Suffolk
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2004
I've used Avast backed up with regular use of CCleaner for years. You have to be persistent in refusing the free upgrade trial but it works well.

Oct 7, 2013
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Swift Escape Compact
Exp
Since 1988
I have swapped between AVG and Avast, both the free versions, and have never had a problem.

Gellyneck

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 5, 2014
Scotland
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
More than toes wet now!
I have swapped between AVG and Avast, both the free versions, and have never had a problem.
Likewise from the early \ mid 90's but as they are both now owned by Avast and their "nagging" became a pain switched to Microsoft Defender a few years ago and had no problems.

Feb 14, 2021
Milton Keynes, UK
Funster No
MH