Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
I’m going to be providing IT support for a charity.
Typically helping the charity’s customers setup their devices with apps, etc.

For practice and repro I’ve a Windows 10 computer, iPad, iPhone and a fairly recent Kindle Fire tablet.

Do I need to look for a recent 2nd hand mid spec android tablet or is the Kindle a pretty similar user OS/experience?
If yes, any Android tablet candidates?

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
The Kindle Fire is Android but heavily slanted towards Amazon. I don't think it is a good example of a typical Android device.

The problem you are likely to experience is there are many versions of Android, the latest version is 13 I think but many older tablets will have much earlier versions and different manufacturers add their own twists. The menus will be very different between these models so you wont be able to give a stock answer on how to do something.

It will be much easier if you can physically get your hands on their device, much harder describing what to do on the phone.

If you want to get another tablet one of the cheaper Samsung models at around £120± on Amazon might be useful.

Best of luck! :)

Last edited:
OP
OP
kevenh

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Thanks for the detailed answer yy
I did fear/expect that Amazon had hidden the Android OS under the Kindle Fire covers but hadn't realised Android could have a couple of menu types, etc.

I'll slow down & wait to see what devices the users need support with.
Early troubleshooting is remote, with site visits possible for the trickier issues. 🤔 :worried:

Kannon Fodda

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 26, 2019
Seek and Ye May Find
Funster No
MH
Autotrail V-line 540
Exp
I Make Schoolboy Errors!