Water leaking into cab advice (1 Viewer)

Mar 15, 2019
Funster No
MH
AutoCruise Stardream
Exp
Newbie April 2019
Hello, just bought our first proper motorhome today. A 2007 Autocruise Stardream. Bit of an upgrade from our Vivaro day van.

I'm a mechanic so spent ages going over it with a fine tooth comb, it was raining hard so checked everywhere for damp and leaks, checked old habitation paperwork etc all good. Few minor bits to sort like a broken shelf and couple of lights etc so was knocked off the price

It was horrendous weather today and on the way back on the motorway water started dropping off the rear view mirror onto the dash.

Finally stopped at some services and looks like the sealant just above the windscreen where the body and cab meet has cracked and water is being driven in by the high winds. Couldn't find any other leaks in the back when we got home. Is it just something that happens over time and simply a case of remove old sealant and replace with some 512 or is it a much bigger problem that means it needs to go back

Haven't spoken to dealer yet but probably will tomorrow.

Thanks

Feb 17, 2017
Herefordshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
A Bit
I would take it straight back for the dealers to sort no matter how minor or major it was, if you do it and it doesn't hold the dealers may then say that any further issues were caused by your handiwork so not subject to any warranty.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Nixdorfer
Mar 15, 2019
Funster No
MH
AutoCruise Stardream
Exp
Newbie April 2019
Ok thanks, makes sense. Will give them a ring tomorrow.

Came with a 6mth warranty but as this happened on the way home they can't really argue even if its not classed as mechanical and directly covered by the policy.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
welcome to the world of motorhomes and dealers:( but doesnt sound too bad if it isnt damp around it , sounds as if its just cracked.

Upvote 0