Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation

SnowLake

Free Member
Jun 13, 2024
Funster No
MH
VW Transporter
Hi all

I'm new here and new to the campervan lifestyle!
I've done tent/caravan camping all my life, but not motorhome. I'm also a confident Europe driver as have done many drives to the French Alps Snowboarding.

In either May or June next year (for my 30th!) Me and my husband are having about 10/11 days (child free!!) To explore Northern Italy. Seeing the lakes and any part of Italy has been my dream. So we thought let's just do it. We looked at flying and doing the typical tourist thing and go to Lake Como for 5 days and fly back. But since purchasing a VW Transporter and converting it, I'm swaying heavily more towards driving. Making the most of the drive down there, taking a few days, seeing Lake Como and any other recommendations in Northern Italy and then driving back.

This is where I need help. I don't even know where to begin looking at which route is best. We'd ideally like to avoid toll roads in France. Was looking at crossing a few different countries to make our way there. But seeing lots of beautiful sites and camping over on route.

Any campsites or places to stop for free would be appreciated. We are not fans of big cities, but instead much prefer mountain, lake and countryside views, hikes, amazing food and small idyllic towns.

We are happy on either taking 2/3 days to get down there, then spending 5/6 days exploring the lakes and Northern Italy, then allowing 2 days to get back.

Breathtaking sights would be amazing!

Please help! Thanks

Feb 14, 2021
Milton Keynes, UK
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 727G
Exp
3 years 30,000 miles UK and Europe.. Campsites and off Grid.