Touring New Zealand (2 Viewers)

Jan 22, 2012
Wigan
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun TI 2012
Exp
Each to their own but if there s a camper option we re going to do it. I think it would be a shame to do NZ without using the Freedom spots.
Be careful of so called Freedom Spots, the ones we visited were plagued with sand flies. When we arrived at one a guy had spent the night there with his doors and windows shut. But he'd still been bitten to hell. They really are painful.

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Each to their own but if there s a camper option we re going to do it. I think it would be a shame to do NZ without using the Freedom spots.

I agree, there’s a lot of NZ we wouldn’t have seen if we hadn’t hired a Moho.

We wouldn’t have parked on the edges of beaches and had seals sleep around us.
Just one of the highlights 😊

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Be careful of so called Freedom Spots, the ones we visited were plagued with sand flies. When we arrived at one a guy had spent the night there with his doors and windows shut. But he'd still been bitten to hell. They really are painful.

Maybe the time of year you went?

Same as Scotland and midges?

May 19, 2014
Keynsham, Bristol, UK
Funster No
MH
Pilote
Exp
Since 2005
We spent a month in just North Island going clockwise from Auckland. They warn you not to rely on satnavs for journey times but to use a readily available table of travel times between towns; it takes longer than you think.
https://goo.gl/photos/bSFiBzoCwwqUgVV57