Taking my dog to France from UK on an EU passport issued in France (1 Viewer)

Apr 15, 2024
Funster No
MH
Renault Trafic
Hello, I am a British resident and reside in the UK. My dog has an EU passport issued in France as I have a French address. His rabies vaccine is due for renewal. He will need tapeworm medication to return to the UK but a UK vet would invalidate the passport if they update it. Has anyone had experience of this or advice? Thank you in advance.

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
Get the rabies vaccination and worming treatment done in France at same time on your return, assuming the rabies vaccine won't have expired before you get to the vets ?

Mick and Ruth

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 10, 2017
Wybunbury, Cheshire, UK
Funster No
MH
Apache 634 Hi Line
Exp
Since 2019
English vets cant touch European passports. The below vet is excellent and will issue a new passport or renew one with no issues just call them to make appointment. A cpl of hours from Calais no messing around. Also a campsite nearby you can use to explore Brugge.

1713178986769.png

JRT

Feb 28, 2023
The former North Riding of Yorkshire.
Funster No
MH
Nearly did....but...
Exp
40 years caravanning.
Hello, I am a British resident and reside in the UK. My dog has an EU passport issued in France as I have a French address. His rabies vaccine is due for renewal. He will need tapeworm medication to return to the UK but a UK vet would invalidate the passport if they update it. Has anyone had experience of this or advice? Thank you in advance.

You don't have to take it up to the wire to get the rabies booster done so there is nothing to prevent you getting it done a little early in France.

Much much better than the faf involved if it expires.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

maz

Jan 26, 2011
Bizeljsko, Slovenia
Funster No
MH
N+B Arto
Exp
Since March 2011