Site recommendations South West France (1 Viewer)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Aug 21, 2015
Southampton
Funster No
MH
A/T Impala 615
Exp
I'm a slightly less experienced newbie and still learning
Hi all

Looking to spend two/three weeks meandering around S.W. France in September, did this last year, not particularly successfully. Of the half dozen sites visited we would only go back to one or two Venise Verte and La Fleche. Using mainly sites chosen relatively randomly from the ACSI book.

Intend to plan more this year, hence the question. Prime requirements are walking distance of town or village with good eateries or a good onsite restaurant being September many of the sites are starting to close with some of their facilities having already having done so, which narrows down the field somewhat.

Other than the above pretty open although we do like to have an electricity supply on the pitch, we are certainly not wild campers :).

Any suggestions very much appreciated.

RGR

Feb 18, 2018
South Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Globecar Campscout
Exp
Since 2018
We stayed in one site - Les Criques de Porteils - loved it. We cycled along a difficult mountain bike path into Argeles (had to carry bikes at one point) and walked to Collioure (quite a way).

Upvote 0
Aug 5, 2017
Skelmersdale
Funster No
MH
RV WindSport 32A
Exp
5 years only
We stayed in one site - Les Criques de Porteils - loved it. We cycled along a difficult mountain bike path into Argeles (had to carry bikes at one point) and walked to Collioure (quite a way).
Not South West though!
Very South West as an example:

Upvote 0
Jan 26, 2017
Mid Suffolk.
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Inca
Exp
Eight Years and 28,000 Miles.
I would certainly consider 'Camping-Car Parks'.

Many of them are older camp sites, some as good as regular sites, the 'Camping de Mon Village' sites often have excellent showers and toilet facilities.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Feb 18, 2018
South Ayrshire