Remove grey water tank and use portable? (2 Viewers)

Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Dec 19, 2022
Cornwall, UK
Funster No
MH
Lunar Fivestar
Exp
Motorhoming since 2011 - now returning after a long break!
I know, I know, there will be gasps of horror…. But our fresh and grey water tanks are only 65 litres and grey water needs emptying frequently if one is not on a campsite. They also both leak and need replacing.
So I am just wondering if anyone has, for example, doubled the size of fresh water tank and removed the grey water tank completely, using a portable one (as per caravans)?

Nov 9, 2019
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
I would say no to the above. when you go to sell with no grey water tank .

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
I wouldn't, can you get another fresh water tank in to increase capacity. Grey is not so important as you do t need it to be as big as the fresh tank.

OP
OP
H
Dec 19, 2022
Cornwall, UK
Funster No
MH
Lunar Fivestar
Exp
I wouldn't, can you get another fresh water tank in to increase capacity. Grey is not so important as you do t need it to be as big as the fresh tank.
Cannot really see where to put an extra or a bigger fresh water tank. We use portable to replenish/empty frequently as we don’t want to keep moving the van to refill fresh water or empty grey water.
Fresh water runs out and Grey water gets full so quickly (if one is using shower, kitchen sink and hand basin) as they are both only 65 litres which is hopeless.
So we end up as if we are a caravan with no tanks!!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 6, 2009
Funster No
Sponge bath cut down in showers etc, collapsible water containers, if you have a bigger fresh water you will have more grey to dispose of, is this mainly UK or EU use?

Sep 17, 2017
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
A-Class
Exp