Parallel batteries (1 Viewer)

Feb 26, 2023
Minera, Wrexham, UK
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr 445
Exp
I'm a newbie
I am in the process of buying a 305 w solar panel kit. As the lithium batteries are coming down in price I am interested in buying one. My battery is situated under the drivers seat and my question is as I would like the other lead battery moved to the under the passenger seat.
Is this safe to connect the lithium to the lead battery.
Thanks in advance

Sep 22, 2023
Funster No
MH
4 berth coachbuilt
Safe, Maybe. In that it will not go bang. They are both nominally 12 volt.

But you then have a major problem because the different technologies require different charging parameters.

Whatever you do for one will be wrong for the other. So, definately, not a good idea.

Your alternator will not like the presence of the lithium battery.

Upvote 0
Apr 6, 2019
Eye, Peterborough, UK
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
FourWinds Windsport 6.8L V10
I always read here on Fun that mixing batteries is a bad idea and they can see why and agree.... However, there are a few popular blogs that show an advantage of combining a lead and lipo battery......but it is beyond my expertise to advise further.

Upvote 0
Sep 22, 2023
Funster No
MH
4 berth coachbuilt
Do not confuse LiPo with the much safer LiFePO4 batteries.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
I am in the process of buying a 305 w solar panel kit. As the lithium batteries are coming down in price I am interested in buying one. My battery is situated under the drivers seat and my question is as I would like the other lead battery moved to the under the passenger seat.
Thanks in advance

You'll have much more useable capacity from the lithium than you get now and you might find it is more than enough and won't need two batteries. So you might be better swapping your lead acid for new lithium.