Mercedes Sprinter 9 speed automatic

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Carthago T149
Exp
Since 2016
We have just collected our new van and we are very pleased with how quite it is and how smooth the box is but ! when driving slow and I think it is mainly when going downhill at slow speed it seems to drop down a gear and rev quite high which is not great when trying to run it in. Does anyone have any ideas what is going on ?

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
We have just collected our new van and we are very pleased with how quite it is and how smooth the box is but ! when driving slow and I think it is mainly when going downhill at slow speed it seems to drop down a gear and rev quite high which is not great when trying to run it in. Does anyone have any ideas what is going on ?

No idea.

But running in, is that still a done thing?

OP
OP
Roger S
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Carthago T149
Exp
Since 2016
Apparantly so, it says in the destruction manual not to rev it too high or at the same speed for long periods, but I just dont like to hear an engine rev when its not necessary.

Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis
Exp
20 years
All the autos with similar boxes I have had do this.

Suits the regeneration system on them and saves wear on the brakes.

You could drive it in manual if it is revving too high for you.

I haven’t in any of the ones I have had but they have all been leased and gone back after three years. No issues with any of them.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Likes collected
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Apparantly so, it says in the destruction manual not to rev it too high or at the same speed for long periods, but I just dont like to hear an engine rev when its not necessary.

During a running in period revs and how long for need varying otherwise you get a step in the cylinder walls.