Affiliate links here may earn MHF compensation
Jul 16, 2017
Gers, France
Funster No
MH
Rapido 8096
Exp
I'm a newbie
Following our first trip in our 2018 Rapido 8096, we’ve come back with a list of ‘improvements’.
One of which is that the usb socket in the dash doesn’t charge the iPad, we use for navigation, fast enough. Having removed the panel and found the connections to the cigar lighter and usb socket, the wires going into the usb socket don’t appear man enough to swap out for something else.

Has anyone swapped their socket for something faster charging?

MisterB

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 25, 2018
Essex
Funster No
MH
Adria 670 SLT
Exp
enough to know i shouldnt touch things i know nothing about ....
Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014

HKF

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2021
The Charente, France
Funster No
MH
Benimar Europe 740
Exp
Since August 2021
Just done the exact thing, will try to find the link but it looks like an aliens face in blue LEDs ....it was recommended on here and I bought it on Amazon.
Comes with bigger cables !!!

I'm looking into getting one of these, too, but then read this;

"However, a word of caution: Devices that charge with higher wattage also require special cables that can transport particularly high currents; otherwise, there is a risk of cable fire."

There's a link within that sentence that goes here;

USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C Device Cable

USB-C Male to USB-C Male, 1 m (3 ft.), SuperSpeed+ USB, 10 Gbps, 100 W / 5 A, 4K@60Hz, Black
SKU: 355223
Highlights

• USB-C male to USB-C male
  • Connects a USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C device to a Gen 2 Type-C port
  • Supports speeds of up to 10 Gbps

Am I correct in thinking that it's necessary to buy new cables to use with this socket and ensure that only those new cables are used, please? Thank you.

MisterB

LIFE MEMBER
Feb 25, 2018
Essex
Funster No
MH
Adria 670 SLT
Exp