Buying a campervan in France? (1 Viewer)

fourgon24

Free Member
Apr 15, 2024
Funster No
MH
seriously looking
Hello there, newbie here from France (Brits abroad). Looking to buy my first campervan for driving around Europe - a few weeks at at time.

We bought our current LHD car in the UK (pre-Brexit) as it was so much cheaper than buying second hand in France.

Looking at a few listing sites the same seems to apply for campervans.

Is this forum members' experience also?

Would you recommend buying in France?

Thank you

Aug 14, 2013
Département 87
Funster No
MH
Exp
Since about year 2000
Hello there, newbie here from France (Brits abroad). Looking to buy my first campervan for driving around Europe - a few weeks at at time.

We bought our current LHD car in the UK (pre-Brexit) as it was so much cheaper than buying second hand in France.

Looking at a few listing sites the same seems to apply for campervans.

Is this forum members' experience also?

Would you recommend buying in France?

Thank you
I think you will find MOST vehicles are more expensive if France. You don't indicate what your budget is, but, whilst whiling away the time last week, I had a look at a repairer adjacent to the A20 near Limoges and he had a selection of about a dozen, from around 20 000€ up to 70 000€. A few didn't have a specification or price on display. I will be back there tomorrow, so if you are interested I can enquire further. One thing I will mention to them will be to please list their stock on their web site.

John

Upvote 0
Apr 28, 2022
Western France
Funster No
MH
Pilote G600
Exp
Since 2006
I think the second-hand market for cars and vans is difficult to understand here. They hold their prices so well that it hardly seems worth buying them. Buying in the UK implies importing into France and I'm sure you know how bad the government website ANTS is for even the simplest jobs. Only you can decide whether it is worth the hassle.