Stonelynk

Free Member
Mar 20, 2019
Funster No
MH
Transit Ducatto
Exp
10 months
hi all I am new to Motorhome Fun and have only had a motorhome for about 10 months, but need some guidance on what to do with the electrics (batteries) when not in use. I disconnected the negative on both the leisure and main batteries and attached a battery conditioner to the main battery. When I reconnected to turn it over, dead. What am I doing wrong? Please help.

ctc

Oct 12, 2015
Crowle
Funster No
MH
Hymer b680
Exp
New
Sounds like a charger in reverse.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
A disconnected battery should remain charged for a considerable time, think how long they are on the shelf in motoring shops, so it sounds like a charger issue draining it or the battery itself is shot
Only way of knowing is charge it with a proper charger while disconnected for a couple of days, remove from charge and leave it overnight then check the voltage with a multimeter.
The meter should show around 12.7v if the battery is good.

Or.... It may just be you had a really poor connection when you reconnected.
A 300/400amp load will soon break a bad connection.

OP
OP
Stonelynk

Stonelynk

Free Member
Mar 20, 2019
Funster No
MH
Transit Ducatto
Exp
10 months
Many thanks for relies. The battery isa new one, as i was not aware the the original battery history. I did only disconnect the negatives, but now fully disconnected and on charge. So will see what happens. I am assuming that it is best to fully disconnect if the van will not be used for some time. I do use a battery conditioner which monitors the battery and will trickle charge when needed. I did use this successfully on a BMW Z3 previously.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005