1. MotorhomeFun The best Motorhome Club in the World
     
    Register to remove adverts Register Here

    Welcome to Motorhome Fun

    MotorhomeFun is a large community of motorhome and touring enthusiasts. Our website is the busiest of its kind. It serves as a meeting place for thousands of members who share their knowledge of motorhomes and travel, as well as arrange rallies in the UK, Europe and beyond.

    It's easy to join us and takes just a minute

victron or nasa ?

Discussion in 'TECH/MECH GENERAL' started by chippy63, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Morning all,

    I'm after some sort of battery montior , used to have a nasa BM1 compact in old van, but
    looking for something for new one, the prob i had with bm1 compact was that the shunt was only 100amp so the inverter never went through it (1800watt inverter).

    So Nasa do BM2 with a 200amp shunt, but i have no where to fit it because of size, victron 600, has 500amp shunt and unit is smaller. but is a bit more technical:RollEyes::RollEyes:.

    Does anybody know if i connect a bm1 with 100amp shunt with the inverter, will it just not reading correctly or with it melt, overheat ????.

    Or can i connect a bm1 compact with a bm2 shunt?.

    i know what the nasa can do, anybody got an victron to comment on?



    Karl

    karl
    1 person likes this.
  2. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    7,041
    Location:
    UK
    I have had both Victron and NASA and the Victron one is miles better.
    I don't rate the NASA one (which I have now).
  3. haganap

    haganap Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10,181
    Likes Received:
    10,211
    Location:
    In A House of Bricks
    Ive got the NASA BM1,
    great piece of kit :thumb:
  4. DMS

    DMS Trader

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Midlands
    I have only ever used the NASA BM1 and yes i do use it with a 3k watt inverter..
    regards
    Alan
  5. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Birmingham

    DMS, What happens when you use with inverter, flames, smoke:BigGrin::BigGrin:, or can the shunt handle it but not display correctly???

    Gromett, Why don't you rate the nasa compared to the victron???

    karl
  6. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    7,041
    Location:
    UK
    Lots of little niggles. Like it shows 104% charge. You have to learn its little foibles to get accurate usage out of the device. I am forever having to zero it. It doesn't appear to calculate peukert's correctly also.

    I have had this one a while now. I can't remember all the difference I just know that I was seriously disappointed with it in the first year but am now coping with it's issues. I do however keep forgetting to zero it when I take it off hookup which can cause issues as I don't know the actual charge state the next day if I have used the battery overnight which is really the whole point of the device.

    I effectively now mainly use it as a volt meter.
  7. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    3,935
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    The Victron is more accurate than the NASA, works properly with solar panels and has a 500amp shunt so remains accurate when using an inverter that draws over the 100amp NASA shunt.

    That in itself doesn't cause any real issues, it is just that the NASA cannot calculate the amps used as it is overloaded. So it becomes incorrect, ergo, a battery computer that doesn't know the state of the batteries:RollEyes:

    On the Van Bitz exhibition support unit, we fitted a NASA system (before we new about 104% charging and the rapid re-calculation and alarming power fluctuations after solar charging) It works, does as we need and as Grommet said, we've got use to it. Would I have it changed? no, If it went wrong would I replace it with another NASA? no.

    When I had my own van kitted out last year, I fitted the Victron unit and am pleased as punch with it.

    Eddie
    1 person likes this.
  8. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    7,041
    Location:
    UK
    I am with Eddie on this one. I won't be buying a victron to replace the existing NASA. But if it breaks or I get a new van I wouldn't buy one again I would get the Victron.
  9. chippy63

    chippy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Birmingham
    thanks for all the replies, questions for eddie, do you sell the victron, do you keep them in stock?

    I am asking because i am coming to somerset tommorow for a few days away so could come & collect.


    Karl
  10. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    3,935
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Yes we do have them in stock and remember as you are a Funster you get 10% off our products :BigGrin:

    Eddie

Share This Page