Seeking NC500 Tips for Campervan Newbies (1 Viewer)

Aug 28, 2022
Liverpool, UK
Funster No
MH
Currently looking
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi all, my partner and I are quite new to the forum, and camper vanning.
We have recently bought our first ever camper van (VW T6). We are looking to do the NC500 in the next couple of months. I was wondering if anyone on the forum could give us some recommendations of places to stay, and any other advice you may have for two campervan newbies.
:giggle:

Oct 12, 2009
SW London, Poland and all Europe
Funster No
MH
A Class N+B Arto 69GL
Exp
Since 2009
ello

My first thoughts are whether you have shower and toilet facilities onboard?

Even if you have them, facilities are quite widespread on that route.

I suggest you have one season of getting used to your T6 and the most comfortable way to operate it before venturing onto the NC500.

Upvote 0

Tombola

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 21, 2020
Merseyside
Funster No
MH
Rapido 8094DF
Exp
Since 2004
Dont pressure yourself would be my tip, trying to do it all ASAP. Give it a try and decide which way round, then have a good moooch on here for others who may have done similar.
There are plenty nice places, then there are pitfalls like midgies at certain times of the year on the west, traffic during holiday season etc.

plenty folk doing it esp in the summer months, and you'll meet lots of like minded folk, just as much as you may encounter those that dont want you (us) there.

Use the search bar for NC500, and Im sure you will find lots to tease your tastebuds.

Some love it others don't, me personally I think its well overrated, but seems to be one of the "must do's" thanks to marketing from the Scots, but with all the "youtubers" and every Tom dick and harry now, it seems to have imploded on itself.

Id much rather potter round the lakes, devon, cumbria, and avoid the anti-English feeling I encountered blatantly both times I did it, some want our tourist £, and some dont want us at all.