1. MotorhomeFun The best Motorhome Club in the World
     
    Register to remove adverts Register Here

    Welcome to Motorhome Fun

    MotorhomeFun is a large community of motorhome and touring enthusiasts. Our website is the busiest of its kind. It serves as a meeting place for thousands of members who share their knowledge of motorhomes and travel, as well as arrange rallies in the UK, Europe and beyond.

    It's easy to join us and takes just a minute

Sat Nav Snooper VenturaPro S8000

Discussion in 'MOTORHOME CHAT' started by mentaliss, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. mentaliss

    mentaliss Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Lancing
    Ok just purchased this expensive sat nav.... setup,... sound level...on the 'bar indicator' its up to its maximum but its not audible when travelling at 55-60 mph, it sounds like quiet muttering in the background:Sad:
    anyone bought one of these and had this problem???:cry:
  2. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    5,917
    Location:
    New Forest / or Port Solent
    Yes my brother had exactly this problem.

    He soon solved it though, he sold it and went back to his TomTom
    :thumb:
    1 person likes this.
  3. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,679
    Likes Received:
    1,975
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I have a snooper, though not your model, and no problem with the volume. Are you sure it isn't faulty?
  4. electricscott

    electricscott Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Newport Pagnell
    got the 7000 and it seems ok after I replaced the exhaust:Rofl1:
  5. mentaliss

    mentaliss Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Lancing
    Well that could be the case! is it just me :cry: practically every thing I buy these days is poor quality what ever happened to "the sale and service experience should exceed customer expectation":Angry:
    1 person likes this.
  6. Hocky54

    Hocky54 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Lowestoft Suffolk UK

    I have a S8000 truckmate, and have no problems in not hearing it.
    I would suggest you contact Snooper direct here in the UK and speak to them about the problem.
    They will help.

    Did you buy it direct or through a third party?

    Julian :thumb:
  7. mentaliss

    mentaliss Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Lancing
    Yep! going to do that tomorrow...can I ask you then, I presume your using your's within a commercial vehicle whereby the cab noise can swallow up a percentage of the unit's volume output, also can you turn up the volume on yours till it distort's?
  8. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    surrey
    i have got the s7000 did think that it could be louder at max volumn Had to turn radio volumn down to be sure I do not miss any voice instructions Once I got used to the unit. I had radio volumn back up and navigate via the screen and did not rely on the voice
  9. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster-Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    3,738
    Location:
    Dorset
    I dont have a snooper... tom tom for many years

    have had an idea though. if your satnav has a media player feature with voice commands cutting in where needed, there should be a lead out to plug into the cars aux line in socket as used with ipods. better still, the manufacturer should include an fm transmitter, that way everything would work together including phone hands free, sat nav & audio.

    just a thought though
  10. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    surrey
    good idea but too technical for me to comprehend not even sure if the unit has the facilities you pointed out
  11. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    On my S7000 as well as the volume control at the top of the main screen there is a second volume control for the TV/Radio which on mine increases the main volume If you increase this to max ,then adjust the main vol,hope this helps:thumb:
  12. mentaliss

    mentaliss Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Lancing
    yes that facility is built in to this unit, adjusted the volume in the tv and music facility still the same as I said previous post I'm sure I should be able to turn the volume up till it starts to distort... I certainly can do this with my old indigo snooper and my current GARMIN 2460LT:Sad:

Share This Page