chrispaul

Free Member
Jan 2, 2013
norfolk
Funster No
MH
hymer 660
Exp
hi im new to motorhomes we r looking for our first one on a tight budget i have seen a 1987 hymer 4 berth 4 sale with a 72000 mile mercedes 2.5 ltr deisel engine well looked after but i think engine seems small any advice welcome thanks

Last edited:
Nov 18, 2011
Planet Earth
Funster No
MH
A van
Exp
Over 25 year's
hi im new to motor homes we r looking for our first one on a tight budget i have seen a 1987 hymer 4 berth 4 sale with a 72000 mile mercedes 2 ltr deisel engine well looked after but i think engine seems small any advice welcome thanks

it's not Wat any one thinks it's Wat you think if it is Wat you want motor homes are not fast you are on a casually holidays having fun on the way i only have 1.9 1985 ducato it dose the job:thumb:

and you will love it any motor home is better than no motor home::bigsmile:
and old hymers rock Thar the better made ones
any way wellkome to the fun:welcomefunster:

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
its a merc, how can it be too small:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: mine is a 2.1ltr on a 23ft "A" classweighing in at 4 tons and goes like sh1t off a shovel up hills and towing. Admittedly the older ones are slower bt they are reliable an good for 500 to 1 million miles if looked after. If you like it go for it they are a quality bit of kit.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mar 21, 2009
Harwich, Essex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
4 years
our first motorhome was a 1994 Hymer on a Fiat 2.5 diesel engine. Had no problems, travelled all over Europe and never missed a beat and was fully loaded!

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
hi Welcome, i'd be more concerned does the layout suit you than the engine size..... oh and the pay load... oh and max gross weight dependent on your license and age.:thumb:

Mar 26, 2012
Belfast
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2014