Importing new motorhome from Germany? (1 Viewer)

May 9, 2023
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Summit Prime 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have found a new motorhome that meets my requirements but it is at a dealer in Germany.

Can anyone advise as to what I need to do to purchase it in Germany and import and register it in the UK?

Preferably avoiding German tax and paying UK tax instead.

Or can anyone recommend an agent that could do it?

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Fairly straightforward to do it yourself, some dealer will supply tax free but a lot take a separate payment for the VAT and refund you when you show proof UK VAT has been paid.

You will need to register with HMRC to pay the VAT also since BX there is another form you need to fill in details should be on DVLA site
You will need to get it inspected by a garage or MOT station and apply to VCA for your IVA certificate

The headlamps need to conform if an A Class normally adjustable for flat dipping if a standard cab you will need to change them.

Speedo needs to conform with MPH markings, digital speedos that are switchable are acceptable.

Rear fog lights need to be on both sides or offside or centre.

Upvote 1
Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
When we did ours it was from Durrwang Mörlein at Dortmund and they organised the export plates and third party insurance for us and we did the rest it’s pretty straight forward and we paid German VAT and then claimed back after getting to UK 😊

Upvote 0
OP
OP
PlymBob
May 9, 2023
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Summit Prime 540
Exp
I'm a newbie
Fairly straightforward to do it yourself, some dealer will supply tax free but a lot take a separate payment for the VAT and refund you when you show proof UK VAT has been paid.